what got you started?

stylaster

I was wondering what got you guys started in the marine hobby?

My tale begins in 1994, after i graduated high school i had to have a kidney transplant. As it turns out the first one failed and i ended up staying at home for two years doing dialysis while waiting for a new kidney... so i had plenty of time to spare. I actually got started by a friend of mine from tacoma that was raising giant clams back in 1990. That kicked the whole thing off, so i setup a 60 gallon tank and it progressed from there. If you want to know about my 60 gallon and see some pics here is the link to it from reefs.org

http://www.reefs.org/library/members/r_seine_061099.html

The tank looked pretty good for one back in '94.... man im old lol

Roy

Well started about 13 years ago when there were only a few places in town to deal with. Tank lasted about 3 years and got tired of it. Well 10 yrs later my son wants an aquarium and it all starts again. Now he is ready to get rid of hisDOH! Kind of weird how things work(laugh)

About 15 years ago I moved to California to take a job. And the guy I was working for had a smallish, (60g. ?), tank in the office that was in need of some TLC. So I volunteered to clean it up and try and breath some life into it. Needless to say I made some mistakes and did lots of learning as I had never cared for a SW tank before this. Well after that job failed to provide me with any work I moved back to Oregon and set-up a 55 FO tank. That quickly became 3 different 55's and I had atleast one for about 10years. Got divorced and took a break from the hobby and then my girlfriend, (now wife), gave me an old 55 she didn't want and I started back into it. Re-learned a lot and then moved to a 100 gallon reef tank and now I'm sitting on a 240 gallon tank that will be a reef as so as it cycles. And the wife has a 11 gallon FO tank now too.