My 15 Gallon Coldwater System

Jamie

Hi guys, this is my first post here, so I'll try to make it good.

I've been keeping aquariums for almost three years, and about a year ago I was inspired by Steve Weast's tanks to set up a coldwater, Oregon coast biotope. I've gone through various tank designs, but so far, this is the one I've settled on. The system is approximately 15 gallons, and comprised of three tanks. The "tidepool," the "subtidal area", and the sump. The tidepool (5.5 gal) is fed by a carlson surge device. There are no actual "tides" (i.e. it's always filled with water), but the surge aspect is meant to mimic a tidepool. All live stock is also found intertidally, since I can't scuba dive, but I'm trying to get a hold of some stuff that is found in deeper water. For the subtidal area (2.5 gal) I hope to get some strawberry anemones, because they are amazing, but I may not be able to get any for a while. Anyway, I thought I'd post a few pics for everyone, if you'd like a more detailed description, or more pictures, you'll find them in my thread on nano-reef.com http://www.nano-reef.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=159219&st=80&start=80

Pics! (hopefully these will work)

The "tidepool"

DSC_1446.jpg

Anthopleura elegantissima

DSC_1428.jpg

Small greenling

DSC_1178.jpg

Diadumene lineata

DSC_1443.jpg

Not sure about this fish, maybe some sort of gunnel

DSC_1389.jpg

Nassarius fossatus

DSC_1357.jpg

Purple urchin

DSC_1206.jpg

Anthopleura xanthogrammica

DSC_1279.jpg

Thanks for looking!

-Jamie

Thanks everyone for the responses! :)

I've collected at many places on the Oregon coast, but my favorites have been Barview (the north Jetty at Tillamook Bay), Ecola State Park (Just north of Cannon Beach) and Netarts Bay (south of Tillamook). Like I said earlier, I'm not dive certified, so everything was collected from tidepools.

Beautiful and manageable! Nice job. Mine is 130 and still lightly stocked. Good work.