Donate an Anemone to my School?

Webfoot

Hi everyone,

I work as a school psychologist at the elementary and middle school level mostly addressing behavioral needs. I got permission from the elementary principal to set up an anemone and clownfish system in my office after winter break. I plan to use it as one of our end-of-day acknowledgments for kids that have a good day (who have been previously been struggling). My general plan was going to be to offer the opportunity to feed the fish if they meet a daily goal, and feed the anemone if they meet a weekly goal. A lot of kids I have been working with have been interested in ocean creatures (including a kindergartner who is absolutely obsessed ☺️), so it seemed like an easy but powerful enough motivator to advocate for.

I already have a spare Waterbox 15, AI Prime 16HD, heater, and ink bird.

I plan to get a Kraken lid with the acrylic cover to minimize evaporation and a pair of clowns.

I wanted to see if anyone that has a bunch of anemones that they don't know what to do with would be willing to donate one. Also, if you have a reliable ATO you are not using and can offer it for a good price, I can buy it off you. Unfortunately, the one I purchased for this tank from someone on this forum some time ago didn't turn out to actually work. 

Although I can't take pictures of kids feeding the tank when it's up and running (related to parent permissions), I'll be sure to share the setup!

• Like 2

• 2 weeks later...
On 12/3/2022 at 9:29 AM, Blue Z Reef said:

Eugene is pretty far from me in Camas but if you want to come out, I’d be happy to give you one (or more) for your class. Mine are rainbows.

On 12/3/2022 at 10:18 AM, svt_guido said:

I drive past Eugene about twice a month, so I wouldn’t mind taking it.

I don’t have any anemones, but I can donate some zoas to add some spice

On 12/3/2022 at 10:52 AM, CuttleFishandCoral said:

I would be happy to donate one.