Pump is tripping gfci

Parzifal

Good evening all!   In 2019 I bought an abyzz a400 pump, because, well shoot, can anyone give me a good reason.

long story long, it’s tripping my dedicated 20amp gfci circuit.  I’ve tested the circuit with dehumidifiers and multiple other pumps.  It works without issue for everything other than the abyzz.

I've tested the abyzz on 5%increments from 60%-95%, all with the same result.  Circuit trips within 30 seconds.  

anyone have any ideas?

sounds like something's wrong for sure. have you tried it in a non-gfci circuit? I'd wonder if QC missed something on the pump though...
And you can try putting a kill-a-watt in front of it too see what it's actually drawing.

and I'd try a super low setting too, like 5%

disclaimer: I've never touched an abyzz pump, so I am far from an expert

If the GFCI breaker or outlet is not the issue then your pump is leaking current to ground, in this case the tank water. Water, or moisture, must have worked it’s way into the motor causing current to flow to ground. In this case, it doesn’t matter what speed it’s  running at. 

• Like 1

It’s been running daily since March 2019...didn’t realize it had been that long!   

it seems to be working again now,  I’ve got the power down to 60, anything over 75 trips immediately.    

i threw a power head in the tank too just in case it trips while I’m at work. 

On 1/26/2021 at 6:21 AM, Parzifal said:

It’s been running daily since March 2019...didn’t realize it had been that long!   

it seems to be working again now,  I’ve got the power down to 60, anything over 75 trips immediately.    

i threw a power head in the tank too just in case it trips while I’m at work. 

I would tend to agree will Willipa and it’s leaking voltage or it’s creating resistance. Have you cleaned it recently? Is the impeller raceway clear of debri and build up?  My concern would be stray voltage.  Maybe add a stray voltage probe?