How to clean clogged 1/4" tubing?

SuncrestReef

I have been doing auto water changes with my DOS and Apex for almost 2 years.  Over the past couple of weeks, I've started noticing a steady decline in salinity, so I assumed my DOS heads were wearing out and ready for replacement.  But after replacing the heads and running the calibration, I saw the Fill head was only pumping about 75% as much as the Drain head.  Closer examination of the tube revealed it's caked on the inside with sediment, similar to the gunk that builds up in my mixing station tank over time.

Any ideas on how to clean or flush 30 feet of 1/4" tubing?  Replacing it is not an option due to the challenge of getting this tubing along with 2 other tubes, an AquaBus cable, and Ethernet cable through the same 3/4" conduit.

My first thought was using string trimmer line with a small brush head attached to shove it through the tube.  Any other ideas?

It's funny, for all the complaints I hear from people about the Apex salinity probe being worthless, it alerted me about this issue right away!

Screen Shot 2020-01-17 at 4.15.40 PM.png

3 minutes ago, chewie said:

Maybe connect to a pump or PMUP if you have one and run citric acid through it on a loop for an hour or so. 

The only problem with this plan is that the ends of the tube are 30 feet apart in different rooms, so a loop isn't an option.  A PMUP moves 100 gph, so if I used 5 gallon buckets I'd have to babysit it and swap buckets every 3 minutes.  I guess I could use some John Guest couplers and extend the tube to create a loop.

Thanks for the suggestion.

see what happens to orange gear....  

I would not push a strong trimmer through it, you will just pack the sediment into a big glob and then it will be OVER.  Citric acid could clean it... but you are not really dissolving anything so its not really going to help.  Make suggestion would be an air compressor or, if you are not man enough to own one of those, a can of air.