SuncrestReef's Week of Apex Programming

SuncrestReef

I'm working on a series of Apex programming tutorials.  Starting this Monday, I'll be posting one tutorial per day on the following topics:

After this series, if there are any specific topics you'd like covered, let me know.

Edited by SuncrestReef
  • Like 9
  • Thanks 5

Preface

I first learned of the Neptune Apex in January 2018 while I was researching how to set up an aquarium.  I was a complete novice to reefing and aquariums in general.  However, with my 30+ year career in IT systems and my love of all things automation, I realized I could leverage my technical background and the Apex to automate most functions on the aquarium.

When I received my Apex, I quickly discovered it was a bit different than other automation devices I have used.  The included documentation was minimal, Neptune’s online documentation was a bit scattered and disjointed, and the programming language was different than all the widely used standards I was familiar with.  I stumbled my way through the basic setup and learned a lot about advanced programming through trial and error while my tank was still cycling.  Once I discovered the official Neptune Community Forums I found several examples of programming that helped me achieve what I wanted to build.

Over the past year I’ve become much more comfortable and proficient in Apex programming, and I've become a frequent contributor on the Neptune Community Forums and Neptune’s Apex Community Facebook group where I do my best to help answer questions posted by other confused users.  From my observations of these forums the most common problems are with the ATK, timers, feed mode, and alerts.

I decided to write some tutorials which will hopefully fill in the blanks that Neptune’s documentation doesn’t fully spell out.  All of the information I’ll provide is already publicly available, but hopefully the way I’ll present it will explain things more clearly and in a single location.