Who do you root for, Maxspect or Apex?

Trailermann

I can't decide, so I need your help.  

Maxspect Gyre XF 250 with controller and second pump  $500

Neptune System Apex WAVs with 1Link  $500

This would be for a SPS heavy mixed reef tank, 120 gallons.

Circulation, appearance, control?  Is the second pump really needed?

• Like 1

I can’t  speak for the wave system, but I can tell you I love my gyre with apex controllability! I am deffinatly gonna get a 2nd soon and do away with my opposing mp10. The mp10 works good but the gyre is amaizing due to going over the top instead of shooting in a circle and dosnt suck air when it’s a close to the surface. Again I have no experience with the wav pumps. They l deffinatly look to be awesome and apex has been a great experience for me with all the products I have run! 👍🏻

It really depends on what your rock scape layout is, coral placement ect... but you for sure don’t NEED 2 I have my gyre xf130 and mp10 oscillating to kind of evenly give the coral even flow both ways the xf130 reverse gyre is kind of a joke, but the newer xf250 could be better. I’m no expert just my experience but 1 will deffinatly work great! I am deffinatly getting another gyre in the near future. 

Edited by 503reefland

13 hours ago, xmas_one said:

I can’t speak to Neptune WAVs, but Gyres are garbage. You might as well get Jebao and replace them every year when they fail. Get a couple MP40s and call it a day.

Funny!  I was going to recommend Jebaos over the WAV.  I have several years on all 4 of my WP-60s (do they even make those anymore?)  But the quality can be hit and miss for sure.

15 hours ago, xmas_one said:

I can’t speak to Neptune WAVs, but Gyres are garbage. You might as well get Jebao and replace them every year when they fail. Get a couple MP40s and call it a day.