How bad is this?

I was doing a full detail on my tank (maybe scrubbing the joints too hard) when I noticed these:

7465655f455374ba06f44f050d918cda.jpg

86d18f215e71d4237d62bf034fca16fb.jpg

It looks like the silicone is comming loose? They're near the bottom front. I melted the cross member with my halides by accident (duh!). Now both front and back bow out about 1/8th of an inch because the cross member stretched. Is it garbage now? I have very little experience with glass tanks.

af28155ae14b9c57461a6478eb910d17.jpg

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

Its hard to make a determination from just those photos, but if the glass is beginning to bow, that's putting extra stress on silicone joints and from what it sounds like all sides :unsure:

While silicone has an extremely strong bond when it comes to Glass on Glass, and it may very well hold up for some time, I personally think that time is limited. I personally would prefer the piece of mind not worrying that my tank may end up on the floor and look into getting a new tank.

That's just my thoughts though.

• Like 2

That first picture looks scary. Are you seeing any salt creep?

My 75 gallon has a little silicone degradation somewhat like the second picture and still holds perfectly fine. Mine was mainly from when I first started and brought the scraper too close to the silicone. For what it's worth, I've had mine for 5-6 years now with similar damage, but not to that extent. 

If the tank isn't too big, it wouldn't hurt to replace it. 

• Like 1

Ok, thanks. I guess I'll just keep an eye on it. No salt creep yet. The only thing that worries me is that it's not a shallow tank. I'll have to keep my eyes open for one that fits my stand.

11 hours ago, air561 said:

Any ideas on who will drill, plumb and silicone an overflow into a basic 65 gal glass aquarium? I can't find anything reef ready in a 65 gal.