Algae Scrubber Progression

Jeremevans

I put together a pretty basic algae scrubber under an LED grow light in my refugium and it seems to be progressing nicely. This is my first time setting up an ATS--please tell me if you see anything that I should be concerned about. 

If I was doing this again I would have taken pictures without the grow lights on, but at least you can see today's picture in that way.

This progression covers 6 days. I teed off my return pump and put what I think is a lot of flow through this scrubber although I haven't measured it. Originally I was going to use an MJ1200 to run it, but decided to reduce the clutter in the sump and just split a line off the return pump. I would guess this flow rate is similar to and probably a little higher than the MJ.

Now, should I expect my skimmer to start putting out less crud?

Jeremy

2017-03-18_11-32-47.jpg

2017-03-18_11-40-52.jpg

Looks good the only thing I see is it appears to be touching the water line. With mine I tried to be just above but the lower algae was falling off and getting pumped into the display. Which I think has a lot to do with my current algae issue  

• Like 1

12 hours ago, Vance164 said:

Looks good the only thing I see is it appears to be touching the water line. With mine I tried to be just above but the lower algae was falling off and getting pumped into the display. Which I think has a lot to do with my current algae issue  

This was more of an accident than by design, but maybe it is a good design after all. When I set it up I realized that it was a little longer than I expected.

• Like 1

On 3/18/2017 at 6:26 PM, TheClark said:

Cool, nice job.  So, do you see an impact?

I think it is too early to tell. I would like to believe my phosphates are lower but the Salifert test is hard to read at low levels and I can't be sure it moved lower yet. If it turns clear then maybe I will say yes.

On 3/18/2017 at 1:03 PM, danlu_gt said: