DIY LED for 90g reef (rapidled.com)

wmcbane200

So I've been running T-5 over my 90g but I really really want to setup LED's again. I ran LED's over my 40B and I really miss it. I'm looking to get a soderless kit from RapidLED.com. I've read a ton of great things about them and since I'm very new to it I wanted to do a kit. I'm going soderless because it's easier to change things in the future. I'm looking for as much input as I can get on this. I've never done a DIY project like this. So far I've read what they include is great for getting you up and going (I'll post a pic of what's included for lights). I'm thinking of adding 6 more UV lights to it though (will also post there diagram). I'm hoping to get as much information out of y'all as I can before I buy the kit.

Here is a picture of what LED's come with it.

8c9b258d67d61bbc13d98fabb8faffdb.jpg

Here is a diagram of how they set up the lights.

5055c0c84f88f71fe82bea0b557340a4.jpg

And last a link to there site:

http://www.rapidled.com/solderless-90g-tank-dimmable-kit/

I'll be using my Apex to control the lights. Any reading material you recommend I will read for sure.

Thanks in advance all!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have been looking into doing my own LED fixture as well.

And so far what I have read, a lot of people recommended not using a lot of lenses, just a few if needed.

But I'm sure there are a lot of people out there who highly recommend lenses.

Sent from my SM-N915V using Tapatalk

It's always fun and rewarding on any DIY projects. For that price you might want to consider ReeFi LED (I am biased since I'm making these). :-)

ReeFi LED features:

150 watts max, Cree LEDs.

5 channels, individually controlled.

Wi-Fi built-in, program/control with Android app or any web browsers.

CH1: RB x10

CH2: 4000K x5, RB x5

CH3: UV 395nm x5, UV 420nm x5

CH4: Deep Red x5, Cyan x5

CH5: RB x10

Adjustable optics for more focus or more diffused lighting.