The rise and fall of alk and mag...Help!

Optimusprime3605

Beggin' for some advice from all the reefers...been struggling to maintain balance, as of late. 

My alk keeps rising and mag keeps dropping in my frag tanks. Been trying to stabilize alk between 8 & 9.  Also, trying to keep mag around 1350.

I run a calcium reactor, skimmer and a scrubber, that's it.

I'm no expert by any means but, I think alk should drop, if anything. As for mag, who knows, I'm still trying to wrap my head around all of this...So, if you have any advice as to why, maybe, just maybe, I'll get them stable.

TIA

I keep mag at 1440. Any lower and alk/cal have gotten wonky. That said my alk stays at 10 and calcium at 450. Not sure if your slightly lower levels would change things but maybe raise your mag over 1400.

Lex is right. Salifert is good. I personally use Red Sea and have no complaints.

Edited by youcallmenny

I keep mag at 1440. Any lower and alk/cal have gotten wonky. That said my alk stays at 10 and calcium at 450. Not sure if your slightly lower levels would change things but maybe raise your mag over 1400.

Lex is right. Salifert is good. I personally use Red Sea and have no complaints.

Thanks for the advice, you...

I'll definitely try that, as soon as I get them stable, first.

That's kind of my point, friend. Mag is what stabilizes them. Raising it won't cause any damage and definitely shouldn't be causing any more fluctuations. Quite the opposite.

Hmmm...Keep mag levels around 1400, thus keeping alk/calc stable. Very good to know!

1400-1450 mag levels are NOT harmful to livestock or equipment?

Thanks again, you...

No. In fact, I've had mine over 1600 for the last two weeks to clear out some briopsis. Alk and cal have not budged and everything is happy! 1400 is still my bare minimum. Low mag is a huuuge problem.

I won that fight so the mag is slowly coming back down.

Edited by youcallmenny