Pompom crab puts out on the first date!

Flashy Fins

Ordered a couple of pompom crabs this week, and since this is my first time keeping them, I was a little concerned to see a significant size difference between them when they arrived yesterday. Hoping there wouldn't be any issues with the larger one picking on the smaller one, I searched the web to see if others had an issue with that and determined that no, it shouldn't be a problem. Females are larger, and I likely have one of each sex.

This morning, while feeding the fish they're (temporarily) sharing a QT tank with (still waiting for my coral/invert QT to cycle), I noticed the crabs were seriously intertwined and scuffling. Despite my research, I thought, "Oh, no! They ARE fighting!" But then I saw it... a huge clutch of bright red eggs on the female!

That was no fight - I literally caught them in the middle of baby-making!  :hidesbehindsofa:

Tried to get a picture of them mid-act, but failed miserably due to their location between rocks and the fact that the female hid immediately after. The male sat there staring like he could go for a cold beer, or at least some copepods.

DSC_3469sm.jpg

DSC_3470sm.jpg

Shortly after, I saw the female reemerge, and the male has been waving his legs out to her ever since. Impossible to make out much, but I circled where the eggs are.

DSC_3477sm-.jpg

Here's a MUCH better picture of what she looks like. Puts my pictures to shame, but I console myself that firsthand pictures/stories have an immeasurable value! :laugh: