Cyano

lucid

Whats the best way of getting rid of CYano Bacteria? Im starting to turn out the lights for a few days, see if that helps. My skimmer gets pretty nasty after only 3 days, if that has any relation. Just need to find the source of the problem and need some pointers.

cyano treatment is the best way. get as much as you can out of the tank with a suction tube and your hands. Then dose the treatment (found at any store) per the directions on the bottle. don't run your skimmer while doing this. It will go crazy and skim it away so it's less effective. I have some of this stuff if your coming out here today. Give me a call...

There are several preventative measures you can take as well. I'm not a big proponent of the treatments. Cyano feeds on phosphates in the water, so some phosphate remover in your overflow sock or in a bag in your filtration system will help remove it's food source so that it can't grow back. Also, turning the lights off won't do the whold job. Cover the tank with a dark sheet or towel to block out the natural sunlight as well. Another thing to do is to place one or two powerheads...depending on tank size...up high in the tank to agitate the surface of the water. This changes the way the light acts in the tank and helps slow the growth as well. Also, if you feed frozen food, rinse it with RO water after it is thawed out. There are a lot of nitrates and other stuff in the fluid the food is frozen in. Make sure you use a vacuum tube to suck as much as you can out of the tank before you cover the tank. Leave it covered for 2 or 3 days. Your fish should be fine unless you have something like a mandarin. If you do turn the light on just long enough to feed and kill it again. After you take these steps it should die off pretty well and you should be able to keep the stuff from growing back so fast if at all.

Matt