Salt Mixes...whats everybody using?

drock59

I used the sea chem reefsalt for a while, its just rediculously expensive where I was getting it, I am going to the store friday and going to give the coralife a shot, Using IO now but the price is like .30 cents less for the so called better salt... so here goes nothing.

Guest Mbeef61

plane old IO here...tried reef crystals a few times but there was never ANY difference...just does when i need to dose...but my IO has been at alk-8, ca-420, mag-1250

I have been using the Coral Pro for about 6-8 months now. I have pretty much been using it since it came out earlier this year. I liked the regular Red Sea salt but it was always low in almost everything so this has been a great. I have been getting better polyp extension and color out of the acros since using it.

I have been using the Coral Pro for about 6-8 months now. I have pretty much been using it since it came out earlier this year. I liked the regular Red Sea salt but it was always low in almost everything so this has been a great. I have been getting better polyp extension and color out of the acros since using it.

Have you used any other salt brands to have some sort of comparasion.

I have a bit of a comparison.. I used corallife salt in my tank for 4 or 5 months, started wmy tank with it. Then in the last 2 months, ive switched to a 50/50 mix of IO and Oceanic after Steve suggested it. The growth since then is outrages. The only thing its a little low on is mag ~ 1100... but its easily dosed. I don't know what the big difference in the mixes is, but I know i'll just be doing the 50/50 from now on.