9/20/09 HMSC Tank Mainrtenance Post

Glazed

I'm still learning how to manuever on the WEB Site. I thought I would post this message again in this area. I posted this yesterday (9/20/09)

Greetings all,

First off, apologies for my lack of on-going communications -we are going through major remodeling back in the West Wing area, that and getting ready for the new school term has monopolized 99% of time. The other 1% is spent driving from Lincoln City to Newport, and back the other way each evening.

Anyway, reef tank – I am adding magnesium, calcium, strontium (did I spell that right?) and iodine on a regular basis. I have ceased using bioballs – still have a bit of an algae problem, but I think it is slowly coming under control. The refugium looks very healthy with decent amounts of halameda (did I spell that right?) growing. I had an aptasia problem, but an addition of a peppermint shrimp has done the trick. The system has a good supply of snails and various crabs as cleaners.

Recently I added a cucumber and squamosa clam to the tank. The clam seems to be doing very well – meaning, I’m thinking, the water parameters are pretty good. The cucumber has disappeared somewhere between the rocks and substrate. We also added many clownfish – three different species and they’re doing well.

So, overall the system is doing well as the soft corals and such fill in the gaps. I’m always up for adding more to the system, and changing things to better educate the students, although I really don’t want to change too much of the rock formation.

As for the Club’s involvement – I still welcome all the help and educating I can get. John mentioned a visit sometime soon in October. I wasn’t sure if this would be the only visit, or one of many, routine visits.

Saturday would probably be the best time for visits – just let me know what Saturday in October you would like to make the trip – probably a planning trip for this first visit on October, but I’m open for suggestions.