Acrylic tank worth the effort?

wobble

A buddy gave me his acrylic tank and wet/dry sump w/overflow tonight. It's in great shape with no scratches. I think it's a 45g (36x15x20h). I've been wanting to upgrade my 29g to a 36in tank because of limited 30" lighting fixture availability, but have heard so many horror stories about acrylic. Is it really as bad as they say? Would it even be worth the cost/effort to get it going?

True, but I don't want to put any money into getting it set up if I will regret using an acrylic tank in the long run. I've used glass aquariums for the last ~20 years. I have zero experience with acrylic.

There is nothing really that bad about an acrylic tank. Everyone gets turned off about scratching it. Dont be careless and you wont scratch it. If you start out with a new scratch free acrylic I personally think its better than glass because of the weight, insulation and clarity difference. Its usually when someone buys a tank that is in pretty bad shape is why they dont like acrylic.

Hmmm. I guess I could just use it as a QT.

I'm kind of a klutz myself. I put a few scratches in my 75g glass tank while aquascaping and they bug the crap out of me every time I look at the tank. My eyes seem to go right to them.

There's nothing wrong with acrylic. All of the tanks we use in our store/propagation facility are acrylic.

The only real drawback on them is that they are tougher to clean and when you clean coraline algae off of them it puts tiny micro scratches into the surface. You can barely see them though and it takes years and years for them to accumulate, so it's really no big deal.

Ricky Soutas Jr.

-Soutas Saltwater & Reef Inc.-

I've seen the tanks in your store and remember how clean they always seem to be. How do you clean coraline off acrylic? I currently use a razor blade on the front/sides of my glass tank. Obviously that won't work well with acrylic.