New member from NE Portland

Benny503

My name is Benny and I live in Portland, Oregon. I am new to this hobby and forum, I did a search on google then found PNWMAS. I registered to become a member this website last week, while waiting for the the mods and admins to approved my account, I did do a lot of reading from this site and I feel that I just found my second home. I missed the last month meeting, but I will look forward to the next meeting and participate in all the PNWMAS events.

I am currently having 4 fish tanks, 3 fresh waters and 1 reef (1st tank I kept all the wild caught fishes which like catfish (lots of cat fishes), small mouth bass, anything that I caught from the Williamete River. 2nd tank I have 5 firemouth cichlids, 3rd tank I have 4 blood parrots. My 4th tank is currently new, it is a saltwater fish tank that I got it from CL a month ago. This tank had setup more then 6 months with the previous owner. When I got this tank it was load with lava and tufa rocks, two fishes, 1 is yellowtail damsey and 1 three dots damsey and few couple polyps, it also came with skilter 250 filter/skimmer. The members from other website recommended that I should get a skimmer and live rocks, which I did. I bought a PS-75 Protein Skimmer and over 35 lbs of live rocks. I removed the 3 dots damsey fish out and gave it away to a good home due to that fish kept on attacking my yellowtail damsey.

I am very happy that I found this website. There are lots of interesting informations and knowledges people in here that I love to gain from. Thank you all and I am looking forward to meet you all in person.

Welcome. I hope that your new tank gives you a lot of pleasure.

Good move on removing the damsel. They are territorial fish, and each one needs a lot of room. You may want to remove the yellow-tail also, because as it gets bigger, it will do the same.

How big is the tank? What kind of lights? Does it have a sump? Describe the system better. And WE LOVE PICTURES!!!

dsoz