Fish assortment for a 55 gallon reef

willbowen03

So I am in the process of slowly setting up a new 55g flat back hex. I say slow because I am a college student and I get to do it in pieces :). Well I was wondering what people thought would be a good mix of fish that could go in the tank. I am going to have some soft/LPS coral to start with as I don't have a big enough MH for the new tank.

So what would a few good fish be? Or anyone favorite fish that would not outgrow the 55g.

Well right now I have been working with my dad on his tank at home, and I have a few pieces of my own in there. I have a bubble tip anemone, a merten's carpet with a percula clown in there, a piece of xenia, about a 3 inch diameter yuma, a small frag of zoo's, and thats about it. I really would like a tang of some kind but I have heard they are really susceptible to marine infections.

I love my little six line wrasse "Grumpy". He zips in and out of the rocks with such grace. I also love my little domino fish, and my clowns, and my yellow spotted goby and my flame angel....I loved my fox face too, but I recently lost him. I will soon replace though! Good luck with your set up and I can't wait to see some pictures.

Kris

If you really want a tang look into a Kole, Cheveron, or Tomini as they are smaller tangs and are helpful in algea control. A foxface would also be a cool addition if none of those tangs strike you as a MUST have.

Just remember that a 55 once filled with rocks leaves less and less space to swim and fish always grow to a bigger size. So plan ahead.

Find the ONE fish that is your must have and work around that. In the end you should come out being happy!