The new guy here!

markdadof2

I would just like to say HI and introduce myself here on the boards as the newest newbie!

I am extremely new to salt but fairly experienced with freshwater planted tanks. I have acquired a 15 gallon nano tank with PC lighting that I plan on setting up here fairly soon. I am currently reading up on how to set things up and learning that patience is one of the best ingredients to being a successful saltwater reefer (soft corals only with my lighting) :)

I am just warning you guys that I will probably have a fair amount of questions over the next few months, so be prepared :)

Also, if anyone does have a freshwater aquarium and would like some plants just let me know as I enjoy giving them out.

So, does anyone want to wager on the possibility of my freshwater tank going bye-bye and being converted to salt in the next 6 months? He he he!

Also, if anyone has frags for sale over the next 3-4 weeks I would be interested!

I look forward to learning from all of you!

-Mark

Welcome to the club. :)

You have several weeks before you even consider frags. You need rock first. Look around for a good deal. Probably $3/lb is normal, if it is $2/lb it will be gone before you get to it. :)

Then you need to cycle, which takes usually 2-3 weeks. Then a CUC (clean up crew), then after several weeks to a couple of months you will be ready for frags.

dsoz

I would just like to say HI and introduce myself here on the boards as the newest newbie!

I am extremely new to salt but fairly experienced with freshwater planted tanks. I have acquired a 15 gallon nano tank with PC lighting that I plan on setting up here fairly soon. I am currently reading up on how to set things up and learning that patience is one of the best ingredients to being a successful saltwater reefer (soft corals only with my lighting) :)

I am just warning you guys that I will probably have a fair amount of questions over the next few months, so be prepared :)