The new 40 gallon breeder

Dakotapi3rc3

Hi all.

Sharing what I've been up to. I have seemingly outgrown my 29g and decided on picking up a 40b. This is a budget build and i want to do it right so i made sure this one had a sump.

Being a rookie i broke the first 40b drilling it out. Now my second one was drilled low for my new overflow box. So the obvious solution instead of buying another tank to destroy is to block part of the grate to raise the water level and still have it pull.

The 29g is a mixed reef with black box light and hang on skimmer. I took a chance on a 300w mars aqua on this new tank seeing my last chinese light worked great and were growing SPS (albeit the easier varieties consisting of pocillipora. Montis, and leptos) . I learned a lot with the smaller aquarium with many successes and equal amount of failures. I look forward to having the bigger footprint for aquascaping and the sump to hide all those ugly hang on back items.

Message_1580082454037.jpg

Message_1579983855886.jpg

20200119_120014.jpg

• Like 4

• 1 month later...
  • 2 months later...

Hey, it was nice meeting you and seeing your tank today.  It's come a long way since the photos you posted above.  You should post some current photos to show off because it really looks great!

The peppermint shrimp are settling in to their new home in my tank.  Thanks again!

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

• 1 month later...

Seeing good growth from all my corals. Finally got the doser setup which is nice. Who would of thought these suckers need almost 30ML a day. My acros are kind of browning out and my Monti cap is a much lighter pink than when I got it. Maybe cheap salt? Anyway I've started the red sea trace elements dosing program now, we'll see how that goes.

On another note, I'm not sure my tank can take any more $10 frag sales.

IMG_20200614_175504.jpg

IMG_20200614_175509.jpg

• Like 2

• 6 months later...