Control systems?

Spschampion

Hi, in an effort to maintain the highest water quality possible, I would like to add a control system to my SPS dominant system. However, I am suffering from sticker shock from the APEX system cost. Is there another more budget friendly system that is reliable?I do HVAC controls for a living. So, I am not a big fan of web based controls. Second question, I recently increased the flow in my aquarium considerably. I’m running two ice cap gyres 3k each in random mode on each side of the tank. My tank is a five foot long 100 gallon system. I also increased the the return pump size to flow about 1600 gallons per hour. I’ve noticed that over the last few weeks many of my acropora have lightened in color considerably  with less polyp extension. Nutrients, alkalinity and light are all the same as they’ve been for quite sometime. I have positioned the gyres and return lines to not directly hit any coral with flow. Any ideas why that might be? Thanx for the help! Pete

I've just gotten started with reef-pi and reasonably happy so far, though I wish I'd built a real enclosure first...that's on my todo list; I recommend you start with a good box you can mount all the boards in (pi+hat, power supply and 12v converter thing, other misc side boards like for dosing/pH interface. Definitely give a look to Ranthelion's store on tindie, he's got a lot of the more interesting pieces you need and can't just buy on amazon/ebay.

• Like 1

23 minutes ago, Spschampion said:

Thanx, the reef pi system looks cool! I love DIY. Might be fun to give it a try

If you want to do a little light reading, there's a Reef-pi thread on Reef2Reef with over 12,000 messages:  https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/reef-pi-an-opensource-reef-tank-controller-based-on-raspberry-pi.289256/

1 hour ago, SuncrestReef said: