Dosing 2 part schedule?

MorseReef

Hello all,

I am fairly new to reefing and have had my 60 Gal tank running for almost 7 months now.  I have recently purchased a used Apex classic and and (2) Apex DOS.  One DOS I set up to dose ALK and CAL and the other I plan to set up for automatic water changes at a later date.  

Question:

What time of day do most of you dose your ALK and CAL? 

• Right now I am Dosing my ALK between the hours of 8AM to 9PM to try and closely match my lighting schedule. Which is when I believe that the coral might be using more ALK.  This is just my hair brained theory. 

image.thumb.png.5715a7551af6aad9f1a0504b65cfc9ad.png

• I dose my CAL between the hours of 9:30PM to 7:30AM.  I have this schedule in theory so that I don't dose ALK and CAL at the same time. 

image.thumb.png.ed2fa0e5f4d73b470baef5d95b3b77bc.png

What feedback do you guys have for me on this?  What schedules do you use and why?

Thank for your advise.

Rick

When I first started, I dosed calcium during the day, then alk at night in an effort to keep pH relatively stable.  Later I learned that corals needed more alk during the day, so I switched to dosing both 24 hours per day.

Then last month I bought a Trident and learned SO MUCH about what my corals are actually doing.  Since the Trident tests alk, calcium, and magnesium multiple times per day, you can see the levels change throughout the day.  Based on that testing, I'm now dosing different amounts during the day and night, and the Trident is then fine-tuning the DOS to try to keep everything stable.

Here's my current schedule:

Screen Shot 2019-06-25 at 5.50.57 PM.png

Screen Shot 2019-06-25 at 5.52.18 PM.png

Do you have any trouble with precipitation dosing both CAL and ALK at the same time. 

How do you have your dosing lines run?

Do they both dump right next to each other? 

Do the both dump into the return pump chamber of your sump to get the flow they need?

5 hours ago, pdxmonkeyboy said: