Zero Phosphate and zero nitrate

Spschampion

Hi, I have a 120 gallon mixed reef tank. I’ve had it up and running for about six months. I am relatively new to the hobby, but reading and researching everything I can. I perform an array of water tests, every week. One thing I’ve noticed consistently is that the tests show zero nitrate and zero phosphate. Yet, I have algae so I know this cannot be true. I’ve read that coral need low levels of both nitrate and phosphate for color/growth. I was previously dosing red seas no pox daily. I have recently stopped altogether. I’ve also begun feeding heavier. I’m curious, is there likely nitrate and phosphate in the tank that the algae absorbs faster then I can pick up on the tests? Also, if I continue to “dirty” the water will it just fuel the algae growth rather then make nutrients available to the coral? Thanx in advance for the help! 

Which test kits are you using?  Some are more accurate than others.  PO4 in particular can be tough to measure in the small quantities we shoot for, so kits like the Hanna Ultra Low Range Phosphate tester are useful.  It measures my water at 0.04 ppm, but other tests would show that as 0 ppm.

• Like 1

1 hour ago, Spschampion said:

I just purchased the Red Sea phosphate rest and I use the Salifert for nitrate. Both samples stay completely clear! Which according to instructions is zero. I’m wishing I had bought the Hanna checker for phosphate now

You could check with some local shops to see if any of them have the Hanna ULR.  Maybe they could test a sample for you.

3 hours ago, Spschampion said:

That’s a good idea! Thanx! Also I noticed you have some Acropora. How fast do the “fast” growers grow for you? I know this is kind of a loaded question but I’m curious thanx 

My fastest grower is my green slimer.  This should give you a good idea of growth rate:

Screen Shot 2018-11-02 at 2.58.57 PM-3.png