Low Alk 5.5 Low Cal 295

Oregonic

Oh boy, just checked my ALK level and got a reading of 5.5, checked again same reading. I dose Aquaforest 123 and had run the jug bone dry. Swapped it out with a fresh one immediately and primed the dosing line. Since the ALK was so low I knew Cal would be as well, 295ppm. Everything in the tank looks super happy. My ALK usually hovers right around 7.8 - 8.2. My tank is a Red Sea e170 with a sump so about 48ish gallons of water and I was dosing 50ml a day of each part of the Aquaforest 123 to keep tank stable. Should I just continue to dose this same amount, will it slowly bring levels back to where they should be?  Or should I increase the dosing for a few days?  If I should increase the dosing by what percentage?

I'm not an expert on this topic, but my understanding is that if you continue dosing the same 50ml per day that is just enough to maintain your coral uptake demand and your alk level would remain low.  I'd probably increase it by about 10% - 20% for the next several days to slowly work your way back up to your desired level of 7.8 - 8.2, then revert back to 50ml daily.  You don't want to do a large dose all at once.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

You can safely move your Alk 1 full number per day and calcium 100 ppm  so I would continue to add so that you are raising it by no more than those. The slower the better esp if your corals are. It all pissed off already. So Alk can in theory go to 6.5 in one and so on

• Thanks 1

8 hours ago, SuncrestReef said:

I'm not an expert on this topic, but my understanding is that if you continue dosing the same 50ml per day that is just enough to maintain your coral uptake demand and your alk level would remain low.  I'd probably increase it by about 10% - 20% for the next several days to slowly work your way back up to your desired level of 7.8 - 8.2, then revert back to 50ml daily.  You don't want to do a large dose all at once.