Hello from Garden Home

Zalick

I started my first reef tank in 1998, had a 45 hex, 10g and 20 long. Consolidated to the 20 long and ran that until a sea apple crashed the whole tank in 2003.  Was out of hobby until 2010.  Currently I have a 300g acrylic made by James running a mixed reef.  I'm also an avid diver/underwater photographer and my wife and I dive a new tropical reef every year.  This causes a moral dilemma for me when purchasing wild fish.   I no longer purchase wild coral, only aquacultered.

• Like 3

Welcome, Zalick!  I also live in Garden Home.  I'd love for you to post some pictures--of your tank and of your underwater shots.  There are some amazing photographers here, and every month we have a Picture of the Month with a different theme.  I hope you will make it to the meeting on Sunday at Upscales.  

Holly

1 hour ago, Zalick said:

I started my first reef tank in 1998, had a 45 hex, 10g and 20 long. Consolidated to the 20 long and ran that until a sea apple crashed the whole tank in 2003.  Was out of hobby until 2010.  Currently I have a 300g acrylic made by James running a mixed reef.  I'm also an avid diver/underwater photographer and my wife and I dive a new tropical reef every year.  This causes a moral dilemma for me when purchasing wild fish.   I no longer purchase wild coral, only aquacultered.

What has been your favorite reef so far?  I've been diving at the Great Barrier Reef, Belize, Hawaii, St. Kitts, and St. Lucia.  So far Belize has been my favorite.  I was disappointed in Australia due to so much bleaching.

Welcome to the group.  Like Holly mentioned above, we love to see photos here!

1 hour ago, Gil&Fin said:

Welcome, Zalick!  I also live in Garden Home.  I'd love for you to post some pictures--of your tank and of your underwater shots.  There are some amazing photographers here, and every month we have a Picture of the Month with a different theme.  I hope you will make it to the meeting on Sunday at Upscales.  

Holly