Hey everyone!

Taylorhardy1

Hey guys! I've been lurking on here since before I moved to Oregon from Utah and even a while since. I initially moved here with a 65g I had been running for 3 months, then a heater failed on my qt and killed most all of my lps. I had been rebuilding that until I was able to score an awesome 93g cube from a  member here for a few frags. After I got that all polished up, I moved everything from my 65g into the cube when I moved to Salem. I was able to put together a scape I'm extremely happy with but I stress a lot when it comes to coral placement. Was hoping some of you might be able to help guide me on figuring some of this stuff out as I go, and figured this wouldn't be a bad post for it! Anyways, here are my tanks, pictures are in order from oldest to most recent.😁

IMG_1427.JPG

IMG_1788.JPG

IMG_1872.JPG

• Like 3

Hi! Welcome ! The first thing I do when I set up a new tank is figure out the par as that will help dictate placement. 

If you become a supporting member you can borrow the club one for free.

As a rough rule of thumb though sps tend to like higher par so I place them up high and lps tend to like lower par so down below  or medium they go or even shaded if they are chalices. 

Zoas can go all sorts of places. Mixed reefs can be a challenge because it seems every species likes different conditions. 

I also just move Corals around to figure out that “sweet spot”