secret, not so secret monster tank build

pdxmonkeyboy

Interesting that you have no center supports.  I am not an engineer so I probably overbuilt mine.

i have center supports... but only a single one on each side. this thing is sooo over built. i was reading on one forum where a guy was saying he shojld build a 300 gallon stand out of 1/4" 2x2!!

That is the most ridiculous thing i have ever read. Of course i saw another thread with 1/8" 2x2 so I went with that. my buddy manages columbia steel so to say i got a deal on the steel is an understatement. Anyways, when i went to pick it up he was laughing at me... how big of an aquarium? i showed him a sketch, he said... dude, if you could get it up there that stand would support your tundra.

i think the failure load from a simulation showed it would crumple at around 8 tons of force. [emoji15]

it is so burly i think I am going to make the tank 32 tall instead of 24. i mean.. whats another 100 gallons??

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

• Like 1

• 3 weeks later...

Started on the tank construction. Man of man its long. Needed two supports in thr middle to keep the ends from splaying when i glued it.

The next step is the daunting one.. solvent welding 20 feet of seam in one shot with no bubbles. [emoji15] d4d890c1ee0635f8dd360b8e0c326343.jpg3aab159dcc8871fdd0a75985ab15929d.jpg

• Like 2

1 hour ago, pdxmonkeyboy said:

Probably tomorrow.. ill shoot you a text. My place is an absolute disaster because im painting the exterior of the house, packing everything in boxes for our move, and getting ready for a road trip. Ill shoot you a text.

Sounds like the perfect time to build a huge tank!

On ‎7‎/‎11‎/‎2017 at 11:50 PM, pdxmonkeyboy said:

i have center supports... but only a single one on each side. this thing is sooo over built. i was reading on one forum where a guy was saying he shojld build a 300 gallon stand out of 1/4" 2x2!!