Vance164's first reef

Vance164

Well due to space and impatience I put the 125 away and decided to setup this acrylic tank I scored for free off of here from Edansclownhouse! Was glad to snag it before it was taken to the dump. As some of you know I've been cycling my rock for a few months in a pond liner in my garage. Which seemed to really help Jumpstart my cycle! So here's a few pics of the new setup.

When I first moved all the rocks over to the new setup

20161214_214253_zpsakqqczxb.jpg

Rock work done for now not sure I'm completely happy but will go with it for now.

20161220_215701_zpspq1hglyj.jpg

After adding ammonia and testing and having it all turn to nitrate in a 24 hour period a few times I decided it was time to go so Jeff at C&C for my first bits of live stock!!

A pair of clowns

20161225_181539_zpstnksf76r.jpg

And my first frags! Just gsp to get me started. I did dip them in bayer. And don't mind the diatom bloom haven't picked up and acrylic scrubber yet so it's a little dirty :(

20161225_172751_zps45sjrcdu.jpg

20161225_172654_zpsn6k2rgl2.jpg

• Like 3

What are the dimensions? It looks like a pretty sweet size! That light is cool to.

Sent from my SM-G928V using

Tapatalk

48 long x 21 x 16 tall

The light is one of Daniel's reefi leds. I will run two eventually and remake the conduit hangers (idea stolen from Daniel but made sense since bending emt is how I make a living)

Edited by Vance164

Glad to see things are getting off the ground Vance. I'm sure the 125 will make it up when the time is right. Merry Christmas!

Thank you merry Christmas to you as well! The 125 will get setup but 6ft takes up a lot of space and we will be moving at some point next year so this tank was just much more practical. And also gives me more time to build everything just how I'd like for it.

48 long x 21 x 16 tall