A fish died

katarian

Hi guys,

So as most of you guys know I'm new to this hobby and just recently started a tank.

A couple of days ago I got a couple of chromis and a clown, and a couple of peppermint shrimps.

One of the chromis wasn't eating and last evening after I tried feeding her, and again she didn't eat anything. We left for a couple of hours and when we got back, she disappeared somewhere.

My wife looked down below the rocks through a crack and she found some big bristle worms crawling down there, and a shrimp. And she was scared to death that the worms were killing the fish, I told her bristle worm wouldn't eat a live fish and the she was okay and just hiding somewhere.

This morning I woke up and still didn't see her anywhere. So I decided to move the rocks around and find out where she was, and didn't find her. At last, I saw her eyes on the sand bed and there she was, half eaten.

So now I have been wondering is if it just died because of stress and not eating, or was it something that killed her, as my wife feared.

Rest of my 2 clowns are doing great, and the other chromis is doing great too.

I'm eagerly waiting for your guy's inputs.

Thank you

Sent from my SM-N915V using Tapatalk

I'm sorry! I hate when anything dies. But it was probably dead before anything started eating it. I've had many losses that were "cleaned up" by various critters.

Yeah, I hate when something dies. And was trying my best to avoid killing any fish. But oh well!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Edited by katarian

I am pretty sure nothing ate the fish. It was clear that there was something wrong. Not eating is generally a very bad sign that the fish is not well which is why it's always a good idea to make sure they are eating before you buy them in the fish store.