And so it begins ... Noobs 29g Rimless Biocube

nmpdx

Hello All,

I introduced myself earlier I'm Nathan and as the title implies I am a complete noob to this hobby. But on the other hand I am extremely excited to start to learn the ends and outs of reefing. So with that said please feel free to stop me ask questions and inform me about how stupid I am or what I am doing wrong. [emoji1303]

Anyways with the help of a fellow form member and good friend I was able to come across an extremely good deal on an Oceanic 29 gallon Biocube. Got it home yesterday and the fun began.

d3c7f86e5d24dee885988f54814bcd91.jpg

8d2cc3cf4c6d8874ad96790cb070e7e3.jpg

The tank in all its glory. After checking it out I decided I did not want to use the hood because it would cost too much to do a LED retro and it wasn't in very good condition and that it appeared the tank had never been cleaned lol.

I came home this evening and decided the work was to begin. And my little guy decided he wanted to be along for the ride.

e9b5d1fb7e4d9ed7dd3964895af84b48.jpg

01da6258626e6d6d8237c62b5d761c3b.jpg

I got some of the exterior clean and began filling it up to get a primary clean for anything that has settled. I ended up removing the bio balls as well as the false floor in chamber number 1. I then started working on removing the rim of the tank. I had done a bunch of research at work on how remove the rim. After the casualty of my index finger I decided it was time to put a ton of vinegar and fill the rest up with water to test for leaks as well as let it soak overnight to deep clean.

0ce711f9fc347ad4f8aecffbd2936059.jpg

df5bb2db37345db456678052ff91ae8e.jpg

Also a small score I found buried in the return chamber.

0efb8db89ebc23b0fe221565de3475b0.jpg