Aquarium classes

joshuapd

I'm a newbie saltwater aquarium person. I'm finding the learning curve to be kind of steep. Has anyone thought of having educational classes/lectures on the fundamentals of aquarium chemistry, testing, physics, etc ? I would totally love some guidance and education. Anyone???

Most certainly, we try to make several of our meeting somewhat informative, just come to a meeting and we will take you to school for sure.

There are some very friendly and smart people on this forum that can teach some tricks of the trade and first hand equipment experience and reviews...Take advantage of it.

• Like 1

I'm a newbie saltwater aquarium person. I'm finding the learning curve to be kind of steep. Has anyone thought of having educational classes/lectures on the fundamentals of aquarium chemistry, testing, physics, etc ? I would totally love some guidance and education. Anyone???

I have definitely thought of taking marine microbiology classes, but it is expensive. I think one of the best ways to become informed is by listening to people with experience, and take everything they say with a grain of salt. Since every tank is different, not any single thing is always a solution. Commonly, many things play a factor.

If you still have a drive to learn, Kahn Academy is one of the few places that offer lessons for free. Not only is it free, but what they say is correct and fact checked. There is a lot of ill information out there that I think you shouldn't be spending your time on. I guess it is the internet. Hehe. I advise this to a lot of my tutees.

https://www.khanacademy.org/

If you are into traditional lectures, homework, reading material, tests and projects, then MIT Open Courseware is the place for you. Plus, I think they even mail you a legitimate certificate if you complete the course series. Their lecturers are some of the best in the nation and they are online for anyone with a computer.

http://ocw.mit.edu/index.htm