Relatively new to the hobby

LadAShark

It's fair to say that I'm new to the aquarist hobby, though I did keep fish and some inverts several years back, they were freshwater, and were a whole different game. After 8-9 years of researching and biding my time, I'm finally able to set up my dream aquarium room! Woo! Or, almost anyway. When my home extension is done ;P

The room is going to be 16'x16'x8' (or perhaps a little taller, same difference). I intend to set up a 1k+ gallon with at least 4' wide as a tank pretty close to being FOWLR, with the exception of some tiger cowries, abalones, and perhaps even some tridacnas if I can pull it off! Basically a tank with no small fish or invertebrates. Hoping to keep a small sharksucker (echeneis neucratoides/naucrates) with a couple catsharks (of the smaller variety), an eel or two, and a dragon wrasse alongside a harlequin tusk. I will be connecting this to a refugium full of chaeto and a bunch of copepods and the like.

Additionally, I wish to start trying my hand at coral after that tank is established. But until then I have to first get going on prepping the liverocks, live sand, and other reqs for the aquarium.

• Like 2

Wow! 1000 gallon tank?!?! :icon_bow: ​You've got to do a build thread so we can watch the progression. Welcome! Glad to have you here.

Will do when the I'm able to start. First I have to get the rooms built and ready for action, and then I'll be certain to have a progress thread after :D

Wow that's gonna be one sweet build. Gonna be interesting to see how inverts and clams do with those type of fish. I'd add them with much caution! Looking forward to a build thread :)

Yeah, I'm planning to setup the invertibrates first, and then slowly introduce the smaller fish and then the bigger fish (ahem sharks).

My research indicates that these guys will basically not eat anything that doesn't fit into their mouth or they can't take a bite out of.