ZwickM's 120 Gallon Build Thread!

Zwickm

Hi Everyone - 

This is my FIRST build thread! It'll be a couple month long process as i have been slowly acquiring the equipment since Sept. 2015. My goal is to have the tank running by February 2016. Currently, I have a 50 gallon glass breeder with stand, canopy and custom made sump.  My new tank will be a 120 gallon glass tank that measures 48" x 24" X 24" with a Monterey style stand a canopy. The important factor for me was getting this exact style stand and canopy which, unfortunately, had to be special ordered from the east coast as it is no longer carried on the west coast.  I really like the trim, finish, height, front opening canopy doors and the ability to remove the side panels from the stand.  I also wanted a tank that had more depth to it, which is why i opted for the 48" versus the more standard 72".  The system will be a mixed reef but mostly SPS and LPS with roughly 95 lbs of live rock and "reef-grade" sand. I'm still working to determine the aquascape, which i will post later. I've also purchased all plumping parts from BRS and based it off the 52 weeks of reefing series about plumbing so all pipes and fittings will be color matching and visually appealing.

Let me start by listing out my equipment I've collected so far for the new tank.

Lighting:

4 x AI Hydra 26

3 x T5 48" 54 Watt

1 x AI Prime to light the Refugium

Filtration:

Bubble Magnus Curve 9 Skimmer

Trigger Systems Emerald 39 Sump - Will have refugium

2 x BRS Mini Media Reactor - 1 with RowaPhos GFO and 1 with 0.8 ROX Carbon

BRS Bio Pellet Reactor

Circulation:

Waveline DC10000II Apex Ready Return Pump

Gyre xf130 w/ Icecap Module

Gyre xf150 w/ Icecap Module

Other:

Synergy Reef 16" Bean Animal Overflow - Will be having tank professionally drilled locally

Aquamax Star S-1 Calcium Reactor

Finnex 500W Titanium Heater

Apex System (temp,2xPH)

Tunze ATO w/ 8 Gallon RODI Reservoir 

More to come!

• Like 1