Calcium reactor and Apex

matty

So I'm going to try my luck with a calcium reactor and am wanting some help getting it going with my apex. I have the reactor, media, Co2 and apex, how should I connect the reactor and solenoid and what programming do you recommend? Should I get a second PH probe for the tank or just use the one in the reactor? I'm totally new to reactors and know little about dialing them in. Any help would be awesome!

Thanks.

Edited by matty

I just went from dosing to a reactor for the first time and am very happy with the decision! I hooked my solenoid up to the 4th outlet on the EB8. Used very simple programing:

Fallback OFF

Set ON

If pH1_Ca < 6.60 Then OFF

I run my reactor at about 6.8 with ARM media. It's not necessary to have a probe in the tank but if it makes you more comfortable, go for it. I do have a secondary chamber connected to my reactor that's also filled with media to help raise the PH of the effluent and absorb any extra co2. That helps keep the effluent entering your sump at a higher ph.

The soleined wouldnt power on or off when connected to outlets other than 4 and 8 which work for low wattage devices. Not sure if that's common or just the solenoid I have. Just test on yours.

What regulator and reactor did you go with?

I'm running 2 PH probes, one in the main tank and one in the effluent "cup", here's my programming it's a work in progress

IMG_6558_1.jpg

Fallback OFF 

Set OFF 
If pH2 > 6.71 Then ON 
If pH2 < 6.65 Then OFF 
If pH < 7.79 Then OFF 
Defer 005:00 Then ON 

My calcium reactor is a diy 10"  that holds 5 tubs of the Cari-Sea medium size media
calcium-reactor-1022.jpg

There was an article on reef2reef about calcium reactors and controllers- good read, all the instructions that come with the reactors are pre controllers
  • Like 1

I love your CR Charles, what a beast!

Well, for what its worth, here is my APEX setup.