New 44-gallon Red Sea Reefer 170

Gil&Fin

Totally excited about the new Red Sea Reefer 170 I got last week from Cuttlefish. Jeff is the Bomb! He's always available for questions, helping pick out accessories and livestock, and his pricing is fantastic.

Okay, enough about Jeff. Let's talk about the tank! First, the "170" is actually 170 liters, which is about 44 gallons total system volume. That's 34 gallons in the display, 9 in the sump, and one and one-half in the ATO (which comes with the setup). Super-easy setup. The plumbing snaps together. There is a glass sump with an ATO built-in. The set up does not come with the return pump, protein skimmer, or light. That's a-okay with me, though. That way I could pick up exactly what I wanted and, of course, Jeff helped. For lighting I went with the AI Prime, which I hooked up last night. More to follow up on that.

The tank is in the bedroom with viewing from the front and side, which affected how I did the aquascape. I'm no expert but had a lot of fun playing around with it. Here are some pics of the setup (and you can come see it at the club meeting on Sunday):

05cf8423d056fe09ca901b5ca4270174.jpg

c82575dcf240a70c9febe2779bf56604.jpg

27a9451d8246e4f6977273fd290de19e.jpg

6836d72f7feba10024c71f84c75f49e4.jpg

• Like 5

That is a beautiful little tank and looks so simple to put it together. That may be my next tank! I can't wait to see it! How is the noise from it? You're gonna love having a tank in your bedroom!

Right now it is super-quiet, but I don't have the protein skimmer yet.  The overflow drain has a "muffler" on it, so it doesn't make the annoying trickling noise. 

ptEO1aNBza_Mg8iIP6b5KYULGh4Zd5dxvCYp9PSm

That's a sweet tank Holly! I need to cease looking at this thread for fear that I will order one!

I also just need to not look at it Sunday! You had me at quiet!

My skimmer made this awful squeaking noise for a month but finally went away now that it's broken in.