Mortgage Brokers & Lenders

vanz

The majority here are probably homeowners, so I'll ask for your advise.

This stuff is giving me a headache. We are looking to close on our townhouse. It's still being built and is projected to close on the 19 of July (Aug 8 latest).

I am confused on the lender part.

Our realtor wants us to choose a lender ASAP, but the closing is over 1-2 months away. She wants to fill in all the paperwork with the lender, (maybe escrow purposes?) but we are undecided on who to go with. Interest rates haven't been steady so we are unsure who will give the better rate when the time comes to lock it in. We want to lock in the rate around the 24th-26th of this month, gives us a cushion in case the closing date gets pushed back.

What would you guys do? Would you choose one lender and go with them well before lock-in? I'm really new to all of this, so any tips would be realy helpful.

Am I making sense?

Don't let the realtor pressure you into anything. Also do you belong to a credit union? What are your banks rates? I would make sure you get a fixed rate on your loan. Before you sign your life away make sure there are no hidden costs,surprises. Ask what can you do for me. Pick out several lenders. Find out which one can give you the best deal. From what you have said it sounds to me that they want you to hurry up and close the deal so they can then add those lovely up charges on unexpected expenses DOH!

I think it is a good idea to get the process started with a lender. Get the credit report done and good faith estimates to avoid any suprises at the last minute before closing. You can change lenders later, but might loose some fees that you have already payed.