Car and Home Insurance

vanz

I'm in the market for new car insurance and home insurance. Can you give me your insights on the current company you are with?

I know Amica is good with home insurance....but will rape me for car insurance.

I'm with Safeco currently for car insurance, just basic coverage. I pay about 1200/year. I will be 25 very soon, so I'm hoping it will drop significantly.

Well...the way I look at it...is go with a very big company...You may pay more money up front but if a major natural disaster happens, you have a much better chance of that company not going bankrupt and you not seeing a dime. It happens all the time... I am with allstate and I love them...despite what people think I do not pay as much as people might think.

I'm new at this stuff. So' date=' out of curiosity and maybe necessity, why do you want the same company for both?[/quote']

You will usually get a better a rate and it makes life easier. For example if something happens to your house (god for bid) and your car at the same time...You just need to call one agent. As for saving money. I have renters insurance and my car insurance with the same company...Having renters drops my car insurance by 15 bucks a month and renters costs me 10 a month, so I save 5 bucks a month and get renters which covers up to 25k in theft. So it is not a huge savings for me, but at least I get renters for free pretty much. Same goes for home insurance and car insurance...the more stuff you have with one company the better deal you will get...if you have two cars, you get multiple car discount. Plus you only have to pay one company instead of a few different ones.

actually you don't have to...thought it might be cheaper if you go together.

You are right geek, I'll go with a more reputable company. State Farm seems kinda decent with pricing as well. You said you love allstate...so did you ever make a claim?

NO STATE FARM!! STAY AWAY!! Remember Katrina? Allstate is in the same hot water.