Hello

rworegon

Hi everyone, I'm new to the hobby. I come upon a 55gal for a sweet deal and have it set up with about 50 lbs of rock and about 4 in of crushed coral as a substrate.

The cycle went fine and have added CUC a few fish and just a couple of corals. I have experienced the algae bloom and still have some hair on some of the rocks.

I do have a question. I vacuumed the substrate last night and this morning when I turned on the moonlight led my Flamehawk looked like he had been salted. I'm afraid it might be ich, but not sure. The same thing happened last time I disturbed the substrate but by the afternoon no "spots" were visible. The only other fish that shows this is my Coral Beauty, maybe because of the dark coloration on these two fish. Am I just being paranoid or is this something to be worried about?

I'm looking forward to getting to know some people around town that I can learn from and exchange information with. So far this is becoming a bit of an obsession. I just hope the stress level of being a beginner begins to subside.

Welcome to the Forum!

I've had some fish that dig around or hide under things have sand partciles get on them for a while and never turned to ick or anything. If they are disapearing the same day it's definately not ick. If they have ick they will probably start rubbing on rocks and the spots will usually just get worse and won't dissapear. Being a new system and new fish (depending on where they came from) I would definately keep a watch out for it though.

Starting tanks is always stressful, they definately start to level out as the months pass and things become much more relaxed and enjoyable :D

(welcome)(To)(P)(N)(W)(M)(A)(S)

Sounds like you are off to a good start :)