Book Recommendations?

SugarBear

Hi all,

I'm Dave in Oregon City. I've been visiting here for a few months now reading this or that and contemplating a return to the hobby after a 10 year abscence. Finally my wife is onboard with the idea and we're getting fired up to get back in the game.

I tried to search the forums for recommended books, but "book" is too short of a word for the seach engine DOH!

Can some of you recommend good books detailing the more recent and modern concepts in reef husbandry? I would like to try to catch up on the newer ideas that seem to be making sucess much easier today than it was ten years ago.

Thanks!

I think books are great...but this hobby is alot like tech. it changes every 6 months...So I highly recommend getting on boards like you do already and do alot of reading. People's experience is very valuable in this hobby. Andy listed some great books to read on the side...but do not dismiss forums...like Reef central.

So many choices

Agree with above. Try Powell's they have used books too.

I also like a very basic and easy to start title: The New Marine Aquarium " by Michael Paletta it can guide through most common mistakes made when starting.

One step above: "Natural Reef Aquariums" by J Tullock

and for more details/advanced:

"The Reef Aquarium" by Julian Sprung and C. Delbek

Complement the books with online info as suggested by Reefgeek. Odds are pretty good that someone is doing exactly what you are doing and asking some of the questions you may have on one of the forums. Also don't be shy asking questions aways. Most people will be happy to give you suggestions and opinions.(laugh)

Welcome back!

Regarding online advice: