New to Saltwater, 2 gallon pico reef.

Islandoftiki

Hello everyone,

My name is John, and I'm new to the hobby of saltwater aquariums. I live in inner SE Portland. I've been very successfully keeping a heavily planted 7.5 gallon freshwater shrimp tank for the last year or so and thought it would be fun to take the plunge into saltwater.

Given that a large aquarium is not a possibility for me right now, I decided to jump right in and take a stab at what is supposed to be the most difficult type of aquarium to keep. A saltwater pico reef... and not just a pico, but an extremely small 2 gallon pico.

So, after months and months of researching pico reefs and what works and what doesn't, I have come up with the following:

Tank: Fluval Spec 2 Gallon (Normally a freshwater shrimp or beta tank)

Lighting: Par 30 BoostLED (3 royal blue, 1 cool white, 1 neutral white)

Filtration: 2lbs live rock. All of the freshwater filter media removed and replaced with a 1/2 unit bag of Chemi-pure Elite, 1 mangrove, About a golf-ball sized chunk of Chaetomorpha macro algae (lit from behind 24/7 by the stock Fluval Speck LED lamp), Filter floss as necessary (I usually put some in when I clean the glass or do maintenance that stirs up particulates, or when feeding the favia).

Pump: Stock pump replaced with a Mini-Jet 404 pump with the end caps removed to fit in the pump compartment.

Substrate: I started with a medium-grained non-live aragonite which has since become live. About 1 1/2 inches deep.