Nitrates Nitrates Nitrates............

Chindo

Hey guys,

Im new to this whole saltwater world and loving it......

I have a little problem with my nitrates, they are a LITTLE high and have been ever since I have had my tank since March, Ive moved into a little bigger tank with sump about two weeks ago. My nitrates are around 160ppm DOH!

I have a protein skimmer not a great one but i empty it out every day and has nasty stuff in it, I also have carbon in a media bag in my filter sock.. I tried using the nitrate remover chemical from instant ocean.

Im thinking of putting in a refugium in my sump but not sure how to set it up or what to put in it (scratch)

Ive also heard of dosing with vodka (plotting)

Ive tried doing water changes but they don't seem to help much I do 5g at a time my tank dimensions are 15x36x20 and my sump is 18x17x16 with 3 compartments

I have about 12 hermit crabs, 10 snails, 3 peppermint shrimp, seabae nem, 3 clowns and 1 GSP, Also have live rock but i know its not enough for my bigger setup since ive moved into a bigger setup from my last 29g.

any help would be great... (clap)

the left side has three baffles setup between them

[ATTACH]12048[/ATTACH]

this is how im currently running it, the teeth are a little lower than the baffles so the baffles really don't do much (laugh)

[ATTACH]12049[/ATTACH]

post-8113-141867760583_thumb.jpg

post-8113-141867760588_thumb.jpg

First, make sure your tests are accurate. Take some to a LFS to test the water and confirm with your test.

160 is very high and dangerous for your tank. I would do 50% water change now and 50% in a week, repeat till your nitrates drop.

How much are you feeding your fish?

Hey guys,

Im new to this whole saltwater world and loving it......

I have a little problem with my nitrates, they are a LITTLE high and have been ever since I have had my tank since March, Ive moved into a little bigger tank with sump about two weeks ago. My nitrates are around 160ppm DOH!