Feeding the fish ?

kknight

I have 2 damsels, 2 clowns , sheeper head goby, fireshrimp and emerald crab in a 55 gallon tank . I am feeding every other day. I want to get some blue/green chromis and I read to feed them several times throughout the day. I don't want to over feed the other fish so how do I do this ? Do the chromis eat more of the food ?

I am by no means an expert, but I do have two blue/green chromis. For the last year, I have fed once a day, and they are both fat & happy. The one thing I have noticed is that the larger chromis tends to bully the smaller one, forcing it to hide in a cave most of the time. I'm concidering removing the small one.

Depends a lot on what your feeding. Pellet, flake, frozen brine or mysis? I have three blue green chromis, 1 clown, 1 algae blenny, in a 75 gal. They like the frozen brine. I feed them 1 cube every other day. But I have copepods breeding in the tank that the chromis seem to like to snack on.

Thank you for the help: I am feeding Brine, Mysis and sometimes silverslides. So seems like I just keep doing what I'm doing. I did get 3 chromis and my blue damsel is pushing them into the corner. I knew at some point I would have to get rid of him, guess now is the time. I'm hoping the LFS will take him.

We should get medals for catching damsels... Its no easy feat. I should have known when I bought them, the LFS told me that they would buy them back "IF" I caught them. ...I didn't know what they were chuckling about but I later learned the true nature of these little critters.