What kind of camera and best priced place to buy it?

reefgeek84

I know this question has been brought up before...but I am a complete noob to cameras...I would like to get a digital SLR. I have seen some amazing photos and I want to take ones like it. People have told me that it can be done with a point and shoot, but I disagree, I have spent countless hours trying to get the photos that people get with their SLR's and I have yet to achieve those results. This will be strictly for coral macros...I may use it for some other photo's, but not going out and wanting to win a Pulitzer...

-what Brand is best? is Nikon and Cannon really worth it, or would Sony or Fuji do?

-How high end? for example if I went nikon, do I need the d80 or would the d40 be great..

-What kind of lens?

also is there a place that had either great prices on used or is new the way to go?

I would appreciate any help and input someone can give on this.

I'm on the other side, I'm a Nikon fanboy. My suggestion is to go to a store, try out both the Canon and the Nikon and see which you like the feel of better. Which fits your hand better, which menu system you like better, etc. Both Canon and Nikon make excellent cameras, and you'll be happy with the image quality, etc from either.

Personally, in the SLR market, I wouldn't buy anything other than a Nikon or Canon. I view anything else as a gamble. When you buy your first SLR, you're really making a long-term decision to buy into a complete photography system. All your subsequent purchases will be based off that -- lenses, flash, accessories. The last thing you want to do is spend a few grand on a system only to have that company exit the market, get bought out by a crap company, etc.