Hi from another Newbie...

Jan

Hi all,

I am brand new to this hobby. I have a 10-day old 40 gallon aquarium with 40 lbs of live, allegedly cured rock in it. Does it always have to take ~a month to cycle a new aquarium, even with cured rock in it? Am I waiting for proliferation of the right bacteria throughout my tank water, and it just takes that long? What if I think my rock is cured but its really not? (The lfs I bought it from said it was cured.)

Second question, the salesguy at the lfs said I should use tap water to set up my tank, and that RO/DI water was a waste of money because our water is "so clean here." So I did. Have I just guaranteed the destruction of my future fauna?? (scratch) I live in Lynnwood, WA, for what it's worth.

Last question...I'm struggling to design a sump/skimmer/refugium system. Is there anyone on here who especially loves giving advice on this subject? I'd like to bend your ear...

Hi all,

I am brand new to this hobby. I have a 10-day old 40 gallon aquarium with 40 lbs of live, allegedly cured rock in it. Does it always have to take ~a month to cycle a new aquarium, even with cured rock in it? Am I waiting for proliferation of the right bacteria throughout my tank water, and it just takes that long? What if I think my rock is cured but its really not? (The lfs I bought it from said it was cured.)

Second question, the salesguy at the lfs said I should use tap water to set up my tank, and that RO/DI water was a waste of money because our water is "so clean here." So I did. Have I just guaranteed the destruction of my future fauna?? (scratch) I live in Lynnwood, WA, for what it's worth.

Last question...I'm struggling to design a sump/skimmer/refugium system. Is there anyone on here who especially loves giving advice on this subject? I'd like to bend your ear...