Reeflo Snapper big enough for 300 gallon

reefnjunkie

I will be doing a 300 gallon tank this fall (approx time frame) and am aquiring "parts" as I find deals etc.

The tank will be 72x36x27.

I grabbed a reeflo snapper that I had planned on using as a return that will be going through 2-1" sea swirls.

I will have it split but no 90 degree angles, most like spa tubing, and roughly 6to 8 feet of tubing max per sea swirl.

I will have 4-MP40's in the tank in addition, or I may go with 2 MP60's and 2MP20 or 40's.

Just curious on peeps opinions, I think it would be fine but, I'm still a noob in many regards-;)

Not an expert on big tanks, but I would put more flow from the sump. Maybe the 2 sea swirl + 2 normal returns. Just yesterday I was at Westside and I noticed he has at least 2 sea swirl and 2 returns other than powerheads. I'm not sure if the other 2 returns are a closed loop, but I don't think so. The tank is 300g if I remember well.

I pump back about 3000gph in my system which is about 240 gallons. Plus the powerheads.

That is about the same dimension of my tank. I use a Dart, but I also run my frag tank and supply skimmer. Returns to the tank are not open all the way (I have it split to 3).

I sold my MP40's and use 2 MP60's, turned up to about 80% (?) max flow. Feel free to check out the tank if you like.

Ken

No,

he wants to run a reeflo snapper as a return pump to feed 2 1" seaswirls.

This is my exact operation-I am missing something on the sea swirls??

Not an expert on big tanks, but I would put more flow from the sump. Maybe the 2 sea swirl + 2 normal returns. Just yesterday I was at Westside and I noticed he has at least 2 sea swirl and 2 returns other than powerheads. I'm not sure if the other 2 returns are a closed loop, but I don't think so. The tank is 300g if I remember well.

I pump back about 3000gph in my system which is about 240 gallons. Plus the powerheads.