I need some help with a car

grassi

We need a second car and I'm always been into classic cars and bikes.

So happens that Jamie's grandma has a '68 Ford Galaxie Convertible sitting in the barn in Cave Junction. The car is nice looking and rust free but has been sitting there for a few years.

I need some advices about how to start it and bring it home. I worked as a motorbike mechanic at college, but I don't know american cars at all and I need some inputs :D

First of all I need a new battery, what kind to get and where?

Second, Jamie's uncle told me that last time he tried to start it he found out that the distributor cap was rusted and looked like broken. Where to get spares for old Fords? Online or locally?

Any other advices?

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Battery wise I would suggest the one that Dee77 had for sale. Cold crank amps on those Optima batteries are awesome and he had it for a good price too.

Parts you should be able to get just about anywhere I would imagine. The cool thing about old cars is that they are simple to work on for the most part.

ROAD TRIP TO RESURECT AN OLD CAR!!! WHoo Hooo, I'm in!! Alex, lemme know when you want to go get it. I'm always up for classic car resurection. Grab that battery from Dee77, its a smokin deal. Not really designed for everyday use, but will work fine. You should be able to get a cap and other parts locally from Napa, Car Quest etc. Feel free to pass along my # to your uncle and I can get a good idea of what you migh need i.e. parts, tools, ramps etc.

P.s. if you do decide to get it, bring Dillan and we will leave him at my place with the dogs.

It is likely a 390 with a slushbox. If it is a 427 great! How long has it been before firing it up?

If has been a year or more I would not fire it up until I pulled the plugs and squirted a bit of oil in the cylinders. Might as will change the plugs at the same time. Some oil on the heads would not hurt either.