Hey all New new here

BrianB

Well wanted to post and say i love the site, I have been keeping fresh water fish for about 10 years or so. Have wanted to go salt for a few years and thought now would be a good time since the kids are aboard. It may take me some time to actually get a tank running as the wife says I have to get all or most of the tanks in the garage gone before I can start my new project.

I am looking to do a nice 75 or 90 display with sump and fuge to start with maybe a DSB and definatly some live rock to start. So I may not even have a tank for 6 or so months till garage gets cleared out and I have the time to make a nice oak stand canopy and such. So far just been reading and soaking up alot of good information and looking at others tanks and plumbing to get a idea of what I want to accomplish. Oh and I live here in Gresham.

Welcome! Best way to do it, nothing happens fast in saltwater unless there is a problem and it happens really fast. You didn't mention the sizes on freshwwater tanks,if they are in the way you might look into the TFT or tanks for teachers programs. The kids would put them to good use,would clear the garage out quickly and put you on the salt program in a hurry!

Welcome, I am new here too, and your story sound just like mine, both my wife and I kept freshwater tanks for many years, and always thought about doing a reef tank but never did, We did have saltwater, but it was a fish only, and after many years we finally chose to go Reef, and its been such an amazing experience, I am kicking myself for not going reef many years ago...I can only imagine where I would be now if I had..lol

There are so many great shops in the Portland Area, and this forum has been so great with all the local experienced reefers, its really a great hobby. I have had more fun in the short little while I have been keeping a reef tank than I have in the many years of keeping freshwater...At least for me.