Noob needing mentor

ciao

Hi everyone. I'm really new to the hobby and in the process of setting up my new 250 gallon tank as a fish/reef aquarium. :eek:

I starting to feel a little overwhelmed with trying to set up this sucker and really want to do this right. I'm currently in the process of deciding on what sort of lighting I will need. I was hoping there was somebody here in the Beaverton area that I could meet with and maybe see their tank set up or show them mine and ask questions from while I start up this hobby.

Anybody out there willing to take a noob under their wing to show them how it should be done???:D

Thanks

Welcome and you came to the right place, this website have a lot of reefers experience. I am pretty sure you will recieve lots of help from people on here around beavorton area. It would be nice if you can post couple pictures of your tanks and equipmet so we all knows what you have a this time.

Besides posting questions for everyone, if you want to come see my humble 75g in Oregon City, you are more than welcome.

Do not hesitate to just post any question you have, no matter how small or large it may seem. You can usually get a response within a few hours to days. The hardest part is to wade through the different answers to find the solution that will work best for you.

Welcome to the group

dsoz

This will get me bannedDOH!, but it is like getting years of information in a sitting or two;

check out this site and look at the tanks of each months winners, they provide information on their lighting, photo periods, supplementation etc.

http://www.reefkeeping.com/issues/subject/totm.php?s=&menu=15

What ever you do take alot of information in and deduce what is correct, typically it will be majority rules. You may get 6 different answers to the exact same question so it can be tough, the internet can be a great tool-but....