"Oh crap, what happened......wait,?"

Dego Red

This was my reaction when I got home tonight. A freak leak, and the disappearing ich. I'll try to keep it short but...

I come home tonight to a display full of bubbles. "DOH! Sump must be low. Did the ATO not turn on?" Kneel down to check the reservoir; a wet knee and an empty supply, but no cracks... #1. I yell to the wife for the details, but she saw nothing 10min earlier before going to bed. We eyeball the sump after removing the skimmer, and she spots a stream of water down the back of the sump, so I pulled the neighboring filter sock. The stream stopped! The top of the sock was slightly over/touching the sump edge, but 2" above the water line. Could it really have wicked that far up? I studied fluid dynamics in college, and my guess would have been no!

#2:

Backstory - Two days earlier my purple tang was covered in white spots. Yeah, your guess was the same as mine...ich. So I snagged a 20L & stand from craigslist, added a pump, heater and bacteria-filled filter sponge form my existing sump, and my QT was ready for the sick fish (and his tank mates') transfer tomorrow morning. He's still very active, but no darting, scratching on rocks, etc., and still eats like a damned horse! He can't get enough nori.

Now, while refilling the sump and looking up at my tang, his ich is GONE. NO SPOTS. I did a ton of reading (RC) on the cysts, and I know part of the life cycle is that they drop off...but ALL of them? I didn't run across that, but could that be the case? None of the other fish have symptoms either.

With the QT and copper ready, I still intend to isolate the fish and treat them for the 6 weeks, but has anybody seen the above before? I've had leaks in the past, but not like this. And this is my first battle with ich, so any and all comments are welcomed.

Thanks for reading,

Mike